Report of the Secretary presented at the 56th General Body Meeting of the Indian Phytopathological Society held at IARI, New Delhi February 19, 2004

Mr. President, Members of Indian Phytopathological Society, Ladies and Gentlemen, it is my proud privilege to welcome you all in this 56th Annual General Body Meeting of the Society at IARI, New Delhi. I present before you the report of various activities of the Society held during 2003.

I am happy to inform you that all the issues of Indian Phytopathology Vol. **56** (1-4) 2003 have been printed and dispatched to the members of the Society and as on today the Society has 1755 members on its roll, which includes Annual Members - 321, Life Members - 1284 and Subscribers - 150.

Out of five nominations received, the name of Dr. H.K. Saksena, Kanpur has been recommended for A.P. Mishra Life-time Achievement Award (2003). The EC also recommended the following names for various lectures awards: Prof. M.N. Khare, Jabalpur for Mundkur Memorial Lecture Award (2004), Dr. V. G. Malathi, New Delhi for S.N. Dasgupta Memorial Lecture Award (2006) and Dr. R. K.Khetarpal, New Delhi for Dr. K.C. Mehta and Manoranjan Mitra Memorial Award (2004).

Out of ten contestants, the Judging Committee has recommended the name of Ms. K.V. Sumiya for "Prof. M.J. Narasimahan Merit Academic Award Contest (2003)".

Out of 13 nominations received, for the Fellow of Indian Phytopathological Society (FPSI)-2003, the committee recommended the names of Drs. R.K. Mittal, Pratibha Sharma, C. Chattopadhyay and S.C. Dubey for this award.

No consensus could be achieved for awarding Best Research Paper published in Vol. 55 (2002). The EC members suggested that it should be re-evaluated by 3 referees, Chief Editor and President of the Society.

I wish to inform the house that Dr. Sheoraj, former Zonal President (Western Zone) has very kindly donated an amount of Rs. 17,473/- towards the enrichment of "Mundkur Memorial Endowment Fund" of the Society out of the savings generated of the Zonal Chapter Meeting during the year 2002.

All the seven Zonal Chapters of the Society were very active and organized symposia in their respective Zonal Meetings on important aspects of plant diseases. I congratulate Zonal Presidents and Councillors for their sincere efforts and activities.

In this National Symposium on "Crop Surveillance: Disease Forecasting and Management" 332 papers were received for presentation. 25 invited speakers also presented their views on the theme of symposium.

Detailed discussions were held on the agenda items of the E.C. Meeting and the following decisions were taken :

Venue for next Annual Meeting

- a) The venue of 57th Annual Meeting of Indian Phytopathological Society will be at Pune/ Nagpur or by mid-April at Shimla
- b) The Society had provided partial financial support of Rs. 30000.00 to Dr. Rama S. Singh, PAU, Ludhiana to attend the ISPP Conference.

Election of President-Elect and constitution of New EC (2004-2006)

The Vote Counting Committee consisting of 5 members have submitted the following election results for the various offices of IPS.

President-Elect (2004): Dr. Y.S. Ahlawat

Western Zone

Zonal President (2004): Dr. P.B. Papdiwal Zonal Councillor (2004): Dr. V.C. Khilare

512 Indian Phytopathology [Vol. 57(4): 2004]

The EC has nominated the following names for the respective zones as no valid nomination was received.

Southern Zone (2004)

Zonal President : Dr. A.H. Rajasab, Gulbarga University, Gulbarga

Zonal Councillor: Dr. G.M. Vidyasagar, Gulbarga

Eastern Zone (2004)

Zonal President : Dr. Shivendra Kumar, Ranchi Zonal Councillor : Dr. Jyoti Kumar, Ranchi

The constitution of the EC will be as follows:

President: S.M. Paul Khurana (2004), President Elect: Y.S. Ahlawat, Secretary: S.C. Chatterjee (2004-06), Jt. Secretary: S.C. Dubey (2004-06), Treasurer: R.C. Sharma (2004-06)

Zonal Chapters (2004)

Delhi

Zonal President Zonal Councillor	Pratibha Sharma V.K. Baranwal	Elected Elected
Northern Zonal President Zonal Councillor		Elected Elected
Mid-Eastern Zonal President Zonal Councillor		Elected Elected
Central Zonal President Zonal Councillor	G. Bagyanarayana B. Bhadraiah	Elected Elected
Eastern Zonal President Zonal Councillor	Shivendra Kumar Jyoti Kumar	Nominated Nominated
Western Zonal President	P.B. Papdiwal	Nominated

Nominated

Zonal Councillor V.C. Khilare

Southern

Zonal President A.H. Rajasab Nominated Zonal Councillor G.M. Vidyasagar Nominated

The EC has recommended the enhancement of salary of IPS office staff w.e.f. February, 2004 as per the following rates: Business Manager: Rs. 4000 to Rs. 5000, Dispatch Asstt: Rs. 600 to Rs. 800, Office Assistant: Rs. 1200 to Rs. 1400 and Editorial Asstt.: Rs. 1500 to Rs.1700.

On behalf of the Society, I thankfully acknowledge the receipt of enhanced Financial Assistance of Rs. 90,000/- (Rupees Ninety thousand) for publication of the journal by Indian Council of Agricultural Research, New Delhi instead of Rs. 60,000.00 and Rs. 30,000.00 (Rupees Thirty thousand) from DST, New Delhi.

I also express my sincere gratitude to Dr. D.V. Singh, President of the Society for his guidance, advice, encouragement and support in day-to-day functioning of the Society and to Chairmen and members of different sessions for conducting the proceedings nicely. I thank very profusely Dr. R.K. Jain and V.G. Malathi and other members of various Organizing Committees for their wholehearted support in hosting the 56th Annual Meeting and National Symposium at IARI, New Delhi. My thanks are also due to all the staff members and students for rendering their valuable help in various ways for making the Meeting a grand success. It is my prime duty to thank all the members of E.C. for their cooperation, advice, support and suggestions in various matters for making this Meeting a grand success. Last but not the least I am thankful to the staff at the Headquarters of IPS.

D.K. Agarwal Secretary